## CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT.

## LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION—Continued.

## THIRD MINISTRY-Concluded.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
Without office	Hon. R. D. Wilmot. "Sir D. L. Macpherson Frank Smith J. J. C. Abbott	Nov. 8, 1878 Feb. 11, 1880 July 29, 1882 May 13, 1887

Sir John A. Macdonald died 6th June, 1891.

## FOURTH MINISTRY.

a		
Premier and President of the Council	Hon. Sir J. J. C. Abbott, K.C.M.G Jun	e 16, 1891
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Sir Hector L. Langevin May "Frank Smith Aug " Joseph A. Ouimet Jan	. 14, 1891
Minister of Customs	Hon. Mackenzie Bowell Oct. " Joseph A. Chapleau Jan	19, 1879 . 25, 1892
Minister of Militia	Hon. Sir A. P. Caron Nov Mackenzie Bowell Jan.	
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. John Carling Sept	. 25, 1885
Minister of Inland Revenue	Hon. John Costigan May	23, 1882
Secretary of State	Hon. J. A. ChapleauJuly "James C. PattersonJan.	29, 1882 25, 1892
Minister of Justice	Hon. Sir J. S. D. Thompson Sept	. 25, 1885
Minister of Finance	Hon. Geo. E. Foster	29, 1888
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. C. H. Tupper May	· 31, 1888
Minister of Interior and Super- intendent General of Indian Affairs	Hon. Edgar Dewdney Aug " T. M. Daly Oct.	: 3, 1888 17, 1892
	Hon. J. G. Haggart Aug <sup>II</sup> Sir A. P. Caron Jan.	
Minister of Railways and Canals	Hon. J. G. Haggart Jan.	11, 1892
Without office	Hon. Frank Smith July	29, 1882

When the above Ministry was formed the then Ministers retained their portfolios and were not reappointed : consequently, the dates of their original appointments are repeated.

Sir John Abbott resigned (from ill-health) on 5th December, 1892.